UWE lecturer receives £50,000 National Teaching Fellowship

Issue date: 30 June 2005

Lesley Moore, a senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Health and Social Care at the University of the West of England (UWE), has won an award worth £50,000 for her excellent teaching in the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS).

This is the third time that lecturers at the University have won this accolade. Previous winners are Ursula Lucas, principal lecturer in accountancy and finance, who was honoured in 2001 for her innovative and enthusiastic teaching of accountancy and Stephen Gomez principal lecturer in Human Physiology from the Faculty of Applied Sciences in 2003 for innovation in teaching.

Lesley is one of 50 winners nationally chosen from 187 nominations. The £50,000 award is to be used for projects that make a significant contribution to learning and teaching.

Lesley is a Nursing lecturer who specialises in Acute and Critical Care. Before moving into university teaching she worked as a nurse both in the NHS and military sectors and worked as a nurse teacher for ten years. She is an active researcher and her research interests are reflected in her teaching. Particular interests are in ethics, work-based learning and governance. She is internationally known for her research on work-based learning which focuses on taking learning into the work place and encourages nurses and health care professionals to evaluate what they are learning in the work environment.

Lesley has also received a Churchill Fellowship (2005); a research grant from the Burdett Trust for Nursing (2005) and in 2000 she was awarded a Florence Nightingale Scholarship.

Speaking about the NTFS award Lesley said, “I am delighted and inspired to be chosen for this award. It is encouraging to know that reflective and inspiring teaching, which is connected to research is valued in this way. The role of a nurse today is very demanding and through my teaching I aim both to inspire and prepare future nurses to take on that role. The award is a wonderful opportunity for me to develop my publication profile, expand my work on work-based learning and establish an international network and further research initiatives to inform developing practices in both the Faculty and healthcare.”

Professor Steve West, Pro-Vice Chancellor who nominated Lesley says he recommended her for her influence on colleagues, her work at a national and international level, her work on reflective practice, and in particular her work with students, “Lesley is an inspirational teacher and who sets an excellent example for students by being willing to reflect on her own work. Working with the pace of mixed ability groups she is able to set activities to enable critical thinking and to challenge students current thinking. She is aware of the complexities of nursing practice for new students and is always looking for new ways to support them. As a professional and at the heart of her practice is a commitment to meticulous preparation and planning, and continual updating of material to support learning outcomes.”

The national Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) was launched in 2000 and recognises and rewards teachers and learning support staff in higher education for their excellence in teaching.

See: http://www.ntfs.ac.uk/news


Editor’s notes

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS)
The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS), launched in 2000, recognises and rewards teachers and learning support staff in higher education for their excellence in teaching. It is managed by the Higher Education Academy and funded by the Higher Education Funding Council for England and the Department for Employment and Learning in Northern Ireland, as part of the individual strand of the Teaching Quality Enhancement Fund.

Awards are given in three categories: experienced staff, learning support staff, and ‘rising stars’ who have been teaching regularly for fewer than six years.

The 50 winners in 2005, chosen from a total of 187 nominations submitted by higher education institutions across England and Northern Ireland, will each be awarded £50,000, to be used for projects that will make a significant contribution to learning and teaching.

The winners will receive their awards from the Minister for Lifelong Learning, Further and Higher Education, at a celebration dinner in London on 15 September.

The Higher Education Academy
The Higher Education Academy works with universities and colleges, discipline groups, individual staff and organisations to help them deliver the best possible learning experience for students. It has a triple focus on national policy, institutional support, and subject and staff development.

It is an independent organisation funded by grants from the four funding bodies, subscriptions from higher education institutions, and grant and contract income for specific initiatives. Its functions include the accreditation of programmes and of individuals as registered practitioners, research and evaluation, and a UK-wide Subject Network providing discipline-based support for learning and teaching.

Back to top