UWE student is Radiographer of the Year

Issue date: 10 October 2008

Kate Claxton - Radiographer of the Year
Kate Claxton, who graduated this July with a first class BSc Honours degree in Radiotherapy, has won a national prestigious award presented by the Society and College of Radiographers. Kate was nominated by Jan Chianese, programme leader and the radiotherapy academic team together with Petra Jacobs, clinical co-coordinator to win this prize.

The prize is awarded to the student who exemplifies 'the best of the profession's values' and also highlights the student's academic and clinical accomplishments and outstanding contribution to student life or university.

Kate Claxton started her working life as a veterinary nurse but decided to train as a radiographer as she thought she would enjoy the bond with patients and wanted to work closely with people. She said, “I have always been interested in oncology and I'm looking forward to pursuing my career as a radiographer. I am very happy to win this award but I would like to thank the team at UWE for all the help and support I received during my training. I would also like to thank the radiographers at Cheltenham, Bath and Bristol for all their support during my clinical placements as the placements form such an important part of our training.”

Jan Chianese praised Kate for her excellent communication skills with patients and team members, her high level of professionalism and her commitment not just to radiography but to her previous weekend practice as a veterinary nurse. Jan said, “Kate also found time to help others on her course. She provided encouragement and support for some of her peer group on the radiotherapy programme who were struggling with certain aspects of study.”

Kate will be presented with her award at a ceremony held at the House of Commons on Thursday 6 November. The prize is a cheque for £250, a digital camera and a certificate commemorating the award, which will be presented by Karen Middleton, Chief Health Professions Officer.


Editor's notes: An image is available from the UWE Press Office. The Society of Radiographers (SoC) Radiography Award is sponsored by Fujifilm.

Back to top