Kaltura Media

You can access Kaltura My Media from the top left ‘Tools’ menu on the Blackboard Welcome tab. ‘My Media’ is your personal area for storing media files.

What Kaltura function should I use?

What do you need to do? Kaltura tool to use
I have an existing audio/video file that I need to upload to Kaltura Upload Media
I need to record a presentation with my webcam showing Kaltura CaptureSpace (Record a Presentation)

CaptureSpace is an application which needs to be installed on your computer. It allows you to display a presentation file; record your screens; use webcam and capture audio.

I need to record with my webcam only Webcam Recording

Kaltura Media for online assignment submission

If your instructor has asked you to submit a Kaltura media file as your assignment submission you will find information about how to attach your file from our Submitting assignments guidance.

Important note 1: It is essential that you allow ample time before the submission deadline to upload your media file to Kaltura (we recommend that you allow at least two hours before the submission deadline). Depending on the size of the file, Kaltura will take some time to convert the file before it is available to attach to your assignment submission through Blackboard.

Important note 2: To avoid upload problems, it is recommended that you upload very large media files over a wired internet connection rather than wifi.

Important note 3: Uploading or creating a file in your My Media area does not constitute a submission and instructors will not be able to access your file. You need to complete the assignment submission process following the steps below.

Students are able to view Kaltura content attached to their submission from their receipt on the Blackboard Coursework tab. Select the Submission Text.html link under ‘Submission Text’. If it is only the Kaltura content that has been added to a submission, a warning message will show on the Coursework tab to indicate that no files are attached but the Kaltura content itself will be visible via the receipt. The warning message relates to file attachments that you browse to rather than mashup content.

Back to top