UWE award prizes for Performing Arts

Issue date: 06 June 2005

Issue date: 06/06/05

The annual Award of Prizes for the Performing Arts was held on Friday 3 June 2005 at the Royal West of England Academy. Eight awards are made every year to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the performing arts during their undergraduate years at the University of the West of England.

This year's prizewinners have been involved in a huge variety of the UWE Centre for Performing Arts activities - including the orchestra, big band, musical, choirs and drama.

This year’s prizes and prizewinners are;

Amber Andrews – UWE Students’ Union Drama Prize
Emma Kendrick – Theatek Prize
Jaleelah Galbraith – The Bristol Academy of Performing Arts Prize
James Rose – Luke Gale Memorial Prize
David Stares – Allianz Cornhill Musical Insurance Prize
Sarah Gerrish – Allianze Cornhill Musical Insurance Prize
Daniel Wiltshire – Cremona House Prize
Pippa Reveley – Allianz Cornhill Musical Insurance Prize

The event was attended by The Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress of Bristol, Cllr Peter and Pearl Abraham, Dr Derek Balmer, President of the RWA and Alfred Morris CBE DL, Vice-Chancellor of UWE. The guest speaker was Mike Brewer OBE, Director of the National Youth Choir of Great Britain.


Editor’s notes

Jpeg visual of prizewinners available upon request from the Press Office.

Caption: Pictured from left to right, back row: David Stares and Daniel Wiltshire, middle row: Pippa Reveley, James Rose and Sarah Gerrish and front row: Amber Andrews; Jaleelah Galbraith and Emma Kendrick.

Back to top