UWE students gain top typographic awards

Issue date: 29 June 2010

Jono Lewarne's typographic work Six students from the University of the West of England have been given awards for their graphic design and typography work from the prestigious International Society of Typographic Designers(ISTD).

Three of the students – Jono Lewarne, Ged Palmer and Myles Lucas, will receive merit awards at the 2010 ISTD Student Award ceremony in London on 2 July, out of only five awarded in the UK by the Society this year. They will be admitted to membership of the Society along with fellow UWE students Rowan Caney, Romilly Winter and Liam Randall who have gained the high level of expertise needed.

The ISTD is the professional body run by and for typographers, graphic designers and educators. It seeks to foster a symbiotic relationship between education and industry by publishing and promoting the highest quality contemporary practice amongst its international membership. Its aims are to establish and maintain standards of typography within the professional design and education communities, through the forum of debate and design practice. Recognised as the authoritative body for typography in the UK, and with growing recognition internationally, the Society also keeps sight of its real purpose, as described by its founder, Vincent Steer, '...to bring together in friendship and mutual help, all those with a love of the printed word.'

UWE Graphic Design Lecturer John Paul Dowling said, “For a graduating student gaining membership to the Society gives them the edge when applying for work within the creative industries. It is a difficult task and a great honour to be allowed to put MISTD after one's name. We are delighted for all the students - only five merit awards were made in the whole of the UK and UWE won three of them.”


Back to top